Celebrating Irish Children’s Books | Online School and Family Book Festival. This year we are part of the Dublin Book Festival.

Boot: The Creaky Creatures

For fans of Toy Story and Charlie Changes into a Chicken, this is the third hilarious, warm-hearted story about a small robot on a big adventure. With illustrations by Ben Mantle bringing Boot’s world to life, this is a thrill-ride of an adventure story, stuffed with fun, friendship, and a large number of malfunctioning robot pets.

Boot was once a toy robot, but it has come a long way since it was scrapped and woke back up with only two-and-a-half glitchy memories. When Boot catches sight of a robot pet it used to know – Mr Piggles – our hero and pals follow it to a beautiful green square in the city of skyscrapers.

Here they find not just real nature, but also a haven for broken and rejected pets. They also meet the children who look after the pets, and for whom this green space is a sanctuary too. But Boot is distracted by its emotions, swinging from happy to sad … maybe Boot is broken? Can it work out what is wrong, with the help of its friends?

Illustrated throughout in glorious black and white by the award-winning Ben Mantle, this is an unforgettable tale of resilience and hope.

Have you read the first BOOT story, shortlisted for the Sainsbury’s Book Award?

“Fast, funny and furious. These are definitely my favourite robots.”

Eoin Colfer

Author

Illustrator

Ben Mantle

Publisher

Related events in the festival

Connect with Wonderfest online

[fts_twitter twitter_name=WonderFestIre tweets_count=3 cover_photo=no stats_bar=no show_retweets=no show_replies=no]
[fts_instagram instagram_id=17841440982782173 access_token=IGQVJVLTVxQkwwTndqUlJDMVdaZAjctdGNuUWMzRTgwdE4xNjhQY2I3bmlGWU5ZAVkZAvV1FuVmMzYUl0dkVmMWRzSTNDUWt0ZA1hzLWFVODNSalY4ajlGejh1Nk54RGFieDVHYVlfM2FB pics_count=6 type=basic super_gallery=yes columns=2 force_columns=yes space_between_photos=2px icon_size=65px hide_date_likes_comments=no]